El Dorado Hills - Homes & News - DeeDee Riley Realtor: "Oh, They Didn't Need You. The County Did The Inspection"

"Oh, They Didn't Need You. The County Did The Inspection"

How do I approach this post?

Unbelievably I was called and scheduled to inspect this house

When I had looked at it previously I did not know the Flipper, but I did know, from reading the sign, that the house had been purchased by and was being remodeled by one of the local Counties.  It was then to be "sold" to some family unable to purchase it without some form of assistance.  What disgusted me when I saw it previously was that the Flipper was an unbelievable con artist and that some poor soul was to live in that house.

It turns out that "poor soul" was going to be my client and I was chomping at the bit to inspect this place!!

Not knowing exactly when it was to be finished, the Realtor asked me to wait for a call to confirm the date.

THE CALL NEVER CAME.  And being busy with scheduled inspections, I forgot about it.

Then yesterday the same Realtor called to schedule something different.  Remembering this house, I had to ask about it!

"Oh, they didn't need you.  The County did the inspection."

This is coming from a Realtor!  I couldn't believe it!!  "The County doesn't employ home inspectors.  Who did the inspection?"

"The contractor who did the work.  He walked them around showing them everything he did.  The house looked beautiful!  They were real happy.  They are in it now.  Since the inspection was FREE, we didn't need to call you."

Aggghhh!  I have to say, my heart sank! 

Here is a couple who CLEARLY doesn't know what they don't know.  And they have bought a house!

And they are getting and accepting very bad advice from many sources!

  • They can't afford a house without assistance.
  • They have put their trust in the County, their Realtor and this schmuck contractor.
  • They have "bought" a house that was so unsafe outside, this home inspector was AFRAID to go inside!
  • They think all home inspections are the same, that a walk through is a home inspection and that it is FREE, so it must be a good deal!
  • They are so strapped they can't afford a home inspection.  Then they CERTAINLY can't afford future repairs.  And there will be future repairs!!
  • THIS is the crux of the sub-prime problem.  We are still in it.

I have to say, honestly, that Mr. Jay is really, really, really tempted to send her a link to his blog about this house, but probably won't.  No point in stirring that pot.  I think the house will stir it soon enough!

My recommendation:  if you ever, ever, ever feel like a home does not need a home inspection, ESPECIALLY if it was remodeled by a Flipper or "the County," call me so I can gently, quietly and politely PILE DRIVE SOME SENSE INTO YOUR HEAD!

OH, AND NOTHING IS ... FREE!

 

 

Jay Markanich Real Estate Inspections, LLC  

Based in Bristow, serving all of Northern Virginia.

Office (703) 330-6388   Cell (703) 585-7560

www.jaymarinspect.com


Comment balloon 216 commentsJay Markanich • January 26 2011 05:33AM

Comments

Jay,

Can you say "What is due diligence?"

Gawd!!!

 

Posted by Art Hademan (Century 21 Real Estate Center) over 7 years ago

I was disgusted TWICE by this house Art!  What can I say...?

Posted by Jay Markanich, Home Inspector - servicing all Northern Virginia (Jay Markanich Real Estate Inspections, LLC) over 7 years ago

 Hey Jay, I hear a lot of that.

1. My DAD looked at it, he's been a builder for years.

2. It's a new home why have you inspect it?.

And the list goes on from there.

Good luck,

Clint McKie

Posted by Clint Mckie, Desert Sun Home, Comm. Inspection 1-575-706-5586 (Desert Sun Home, commercial Inspections) over 7 years ago

OMG, this is so sad  Bad advice on all ends.  I remember that posty.  Oy vey.

Posted by Debbie Gartner, The Flooring Girl & Blog Stylist -Dynamo Marketers (The Flooring Girl) over 7 years ago

Clint - it's amazing what some people think passes for a home inspection.  And new construction usually has as many problems as flips!

Debbie - even today I still feel badly for the people who bought the house.  Pretty sorry all around.

Posted by Jay Markanich, Home Inspector - servicing all Northern Virginia (Jay Markanich Real Estate Inspections, LLC) over 7 years ago

And the SPIRAL continues.  The Realtor should have his/her license pulled and be brought up on ethics complaint!

Posted by Wallace S. Gibson, CPM, LandlordWhisperer (Gibson Management Group, Ltd.) over 7 years ago

Well, not my purvue Wallace.  But I might have a talk with him/her when we next meet!

Posted by Jay Markanich, Home Inspector - servicing all Northern Virginia (Jay Markanich Real Estate Inspections, LLC) over 7 years ago

Jay, Ouch.  The agent should have certainly known better!  And you're right, some people just aren't prepared to own a home.  There's good intent behind the program, but consequences later that might not be expected.

Posted by Liz and Bill Spear, RE/MAX Elite Warren County OH (Cincinnati/Dayton) (RE/MAX Elite 513.520.5305 www.LizTour.com) over 7 years ago

Jay,

This is one of the wildest stories I have heard! Outrageous in fact. What recourse does this poor couple have now?

Posted by John McCarthy, Realtor - Seacoast NH (Bean Group Portsmouth NH) over 7 years ago

Sounds like the old story of the wolf guarding the hen house...

Posted by TeamCHI - Complete Home Inspections, Inc., Home Inspectons - Nashville, TN area - 615.661.029 (Complete Home Inspections, Inc.) over 7 years ago

Bliz - intent and results are something that do not always meet positively!

John - I don't know!  So let's say they employ me now, after the fact.  And I find stuff.  What then?

Michael - that pretty much describes it!

Posted by Jay Markanich, Home Inspector - servicing all Northern Virginia (Jay Markanich Real Estate Inspections, LLC) over 7 years ago

When writing a new home contract several days ago, when the matter of a home inspection came up, the builder's agent when into great detail about how "the county performs 7 inspections, blah, blah, blah."  I cringed and took my buyers aside and explained the difference between a county code inspection and a private home inspection for architectural integrity and finish.  BIG DIFFERENCE.  Especially since I had recently sold a new home which the same county inspectors had "passed" on a home when the home inspector had 4 pages of defects. 

I agree. If a buyer can't "afford" (hate that word) a home inspection, they can't afford to buy real estate.

 

Posted by Lenn Harley, Real Estate Broker - Virginia & Maryland (Lenn Harley, Homefinders.com, MD & VA Homes and Real Estate) over 7 years ago

Lenn - that's it in a nut shell.  Once the builder's agent told my client that I was a "placebo."  They know better than this!  And obviously you do too.  New homes are my second worst nemisis, after the flips...

Posted by Jay Markanich, Home Inspector - servicing all Northern Virginia (Jay Markanich Real Estate Inspections, LLC) over 7 years ago

Hi Jay,

I have been in your shoes many times.  Unfortunately, the best thing is to keep your mouth shut and allow the below to happen. 

1. The stupid sales agent will eventually self destruct. 

2. The naive homebuyer will end up in foreclosure.

3. The flipper house will be back on the market within a few years and you will have another chance.

You cannot save the world.

 

Posted by Glen Fisher (National Property Inspections of Southern New Jersey, LLC) over 7 years ago

Jay,

At least the agent took you off the hook in this case.  I have to wonder how the agent is presenting you and your services to their clients when you do an inspection job for them.

Posted by Mike Jaquish, 919-880-2769 Cary, NC, Real Estate (Realty Arts) over 7 years ago

Good morning Jay they say one is born every minute and you just put any doubt to rest and that;s including the agent

Posted by James Dray, Exceptional Agents, Outstanding Results (Fathom Realty AR LLC) over 7 years ago

I agree Glen.  And you have just described the sub-prime market which got us into the financial mess we are still in!

Clearly Mike, there is a bit of ignorance here.  All inspectors are not the same; all home inspections are not the same; the county cannot do a "home inspection;" nothing is free.

James - I have heard the P.T. never really said that, but if I was him I would take credit for it!

Posted by Jay Markanich, Home Inspector - servicing all Northern Virginia (Jay Markanich Real Estate Inspections, LLC) over 7 years ago

All of that is agreed with Valerie!  And the future problems are not an if, they are a when.

Posted by Jay Markanich, Home Inspector - servicing all Northern Virginia (Jay Markanich Real Estate Inspections, LLC) over 7 years ago

Hi Jay, agree with you totally.  We live in a "buyer beware" world and the buyer better arm themselves with every bit of info that is available.  Skimping on an inspection which is almost certainly less than 0.5% of the purchase price does not make sense.

Posted by Dale Ganfield over 7 years ago

I work with a lot of people as buyers that dont get inspections. I think alot of it is money is tight and if the house looks good enough they will deal with it....not sure why.

Posted by Chuck Carstensen, Minnesota Real Estate Expert (RE/MAX Results) over 7 years ago

There you go ...using Flipper and common sense in the same sentence...I think that pair got banned last year along with lender and common sense..check your local real estate directory.

Posted by Sally K. & David L. Hanson, WI Realtors - Luxury - Divorce (EXP Realty 414-525-0563) over 7 years ago

Jay,

My heart goes out to the new owners who were totally unprotected.  Makes my blood boil too!

Posted by Irene Kennedy Realtor® in Northwestern NJ (Weichert) over 7 years ago

Jay,

We occasionally see the same thing with FHA and VA homes. I'd like to think that most agents are either smart enough or at least trained to suggest a "real" home inspection.

Tom

Posted by Tom Branch, Broker, CDPE, SFR, ACRE, Plano TX Ambassador (RE/MAX Dallas Suburbs) over 7 years ago
I certainly don't know all of the details of this transaction, but my first reaction is that ......These are the types of Real Estate agents who give us all a bad reputation.
Posted by Chris Eckert Real EstateTeam, Selling the Mid-Peninsula Realtor (Keller Williams Realty) over 7 years ago

This is becoming a real problem here in Florida now that the State has finally passed the law requiring licensing of all Home Inspectors. During the grandfathering phase, tons of contractors are able to slip by and get the license also. AND they are now inspecting the home, then doing the repairs. One stop shopping, or a real bad idea?

Posted by A1 Certified Home Inspections over 7 years ago

Please keep us posted when this agent eventually makes the news as an incompetent.  I can't imagine discouraging a buyer to forego a home inspection.  Smoke is currently coming from my ears.

Posted by Charita Cadenhead, Serving Jefferson and Shelby Counties (Alabama) (Keller Williams Realty) over 7 years ago

This coming from a real estate agent says it all. Yes, we need to educate the weak when it comes to home inspections. The liability says it all. I always advise a home inspection on a new or old home. If they decide not to do a home inspection, then I get that in writing that I did offer one. CMA-Cover My Assets

Posted by Harry F. D'Elia, Investor , Mentor, GRI, Radio, CIPS, REOs, ABR (Real Estate and Beyond, LLC) over 7 years ago

Jay,

Brokers have liability and if there is no home inspection by a licensed home inspection contractor of the buyers choice then an addendum should be signed by the buyer holding all parties harmless because of the lack of the home inspection. 

Most buyers usually are not sure what they are really buying until the inspection is done.

Posted by Keith Gilkey, 410-920-7214, Re/Max Chesapeake (Re/Max Chesapeake) over 7 years ago

Agent representing the Seller? He was whether he knew it or not.

Posted by Glenn Roberts (Retired) over 7 years ago

Jay - That's truly a sad story that will come back and bite the owner.  Any agent stupid enough to make such statements should lose their license.  And while you'd like to let the owner know, it's the "spilt milk syndrome." The owner has already gone beyond the point of no return and you'd probably wind up in a lawsuit.

Posted by John Mulkey, Housing Guru (TheHousingGuru.com) over 7 years ago

Jay and so the saga continues.  I don't even know where to start with what is wrong with this scenario.  It sounds as if it came down to money and not common sense.  When the new home smell wears off and the first pipe bursts then they will wonder why they didn't spend a few hundred dollars for a home inspection or why their agent didn't insist on one.  Then the complaints and lawsuits will start. 

Posted by Cindy Jones, Pentagon, Fort Belvoir & Quantico Real Estate News (Integrity Real Estate Group) over 7 years ago

Wow, I can’t believe any Realtor would fail their client like that. What a shame and problem for this buyer. Guess people will never wake up and realize that nothing in life is free. Sooner or later someone has to pay for it!

Posted by Suesan Jenifer Therriault, "Inspecting every purchase as if it were my own". (JTHIS-Professional Home Inspection Team) over 7 years ago

Jay, 

This should be a crime!!!!!  Many flippers skip any items except the obvious cosmetic items, so that FREE inspection will cost those owners for years to come.  The "gift" that keeps on giving.  

Hate that!

All the best, Michelle

Posted by Michelle Francis, Realtor, Buckhead Atlanta Homes for Sale & Lease (Tim Francis Realty LLC) over 7 years ago

Jay, a very good conflict of interest here. I'm sure the contractor also overlooked any potential issues. Unfortunately, the buyers will find out the hard way that you get what you pay for.

Posted by Michael Setunsky, Your Commercial Real Estate Link to Northern VA over 7 years ago

Jay,

I agree entirely with the content of your post.  However, as a flipper I just wanted to say that not all of us are the pond scum you think we are.  I am Realtor and I never represent the buyer of my property.  If they don't know a realtor I make recommendations.  I also strongly recommend an independent inspector.  In fact, the one time the buyer couldn't afford to have an inspection I gave her the copy that I had from a previous buyer who changed their mind during the option period. 

Some of us who fix and flip properties just really love houses and we hate the idea of all of the old housing stock getting razed and new stepford wives construction going up all over our neighborhoods.

Tamara

Posted by Tamara Elliott-Deering (Central Metro Realty) over 7 years ago

Awful! I can't believe their realtor let them believe this county 'inspection' was sufficient!

Posted by Dylan Snyder, Palm Beach County Real Estate (Snyder Group/Illustrated Properties ) over 7 years ago

Jay -- How sad for those buyers thinking the FREE county inspection was sufficient.  Well, unfortunately, they will get what they paid for.  BAD advice from their agent.

Posted by Barbara Altieri, REALTOR-Fairfield County CT Homes/Condos For Sale (RealtyQuest/Kinard Realty Group, Fairfield and New Haven County CT Real Estate) over 7 years ago

"And nothing is free", oh yeah, amen to that. Amen!

People who don't know, just don't know and usually aren't good at picking up on what's going on. Realtors have to teach them. If nor realtors then who?

Inspectors, guess who we have to teach?

Posted by Robert Butler, Montreal Home Inspector | Aspect Inspection (Aspect Inspection) over 7 years ago

I still find it scary that there are still agents out there like that. It does make me wonder, is the agent that uneducated, or did they know, but they were more concerned about their commission

Posted by Darrin Carey, Real Estate Buyer (Homes and More, Inc) over 7 years ago

You've just reminded me of why Home Inspections are so important especially after reading about Mr. Jay. Like another person said. Never have the wolf guard the hen house.

Posted by Lisa Coates, Residential Home Sales Specialist (Precision Realty) over 7 years ago

Jay-

Lots of schmuck real estate agents out there too, still misleading uninformed clients.  If I could only tell you about the one who double ended the short sale condo I recently purchased in Miami.  Thank goodness I know about real estate because she certainly didn't.

Thanks for sharing all these good stories.

-Anthony

Posted by Anthony Daniels, SF Bay Area REO Specialist (Coldwell Banker) over 7 years ago

Oh

 

My

 

Gawd.

Posted by Alan May, Helping you find your way home. (Coldwell Banker Residential) over 7 years ago

I am always amazed by stories like this. Too bad you couldn't help them. Whoever their buyer's agent was let them down. Ignorance is bliss, for now...

Posted by Robert Slick, NRBA, RDCPro, Trident/CCAR MLS (Beach and River Homes) over 7 years ago

OMG, Jay, that is AWFUL! I will be so upset when I hear that there are many problems with the house. :(

Posted by Marney Kirk, Towson, Maryland Real Estate (Cummings & Co. Realtors) over 7 years ago

Jay, does the phase "I told you so" come to mind?

New or old, buying or selling, there is no excuse for not having a professional home inspection. It is amazing how many people say they can't afford a $300 home inspection but yet they think they can afford a house. Seriously?

Posted by David Selman, Certified Master Home Inspector (Selman Home Inspections, Inc.) over 7 years ago

Jay, even I make mistakes (I know it's hard to believe).  So I see value in having an independent inspection to review any property!  Especially after a "flipper", usually who's main goal is to do the work as inexpensively as possible.

Sorry for your clients!

Posted by Jeremy Wrenn, President, Wrenn Home Improvements (Wrenn Home Improvements) over 7 years ago

I get similar comments about FHA & VA loans - being inspected. . . they are not inspected, they are appraised!  Thank you for helping us be more aware of what we need to say to our buyers to make sure they are properly represented.

Posted by Joy Daniels (Joy Daniels Real Estate Group, Ltd.) over 7 years ago

Jay,

Everything that was wrong with the house was probably covered up so the county inspector couldn't see them in the 15 minutes he was there.

I was once in another designers office at a chamber mixer.  He told me that he drew plans for a 6000+ square foot house in three days.  I had to bite my tounge to keep from laughing.  Especially since the framer has brought his plans to me several times to get the patio beams recalculated.  He had glulam beams over small windows and 2 2x10's over an 18' patio span.

It amazes me how much people think speed and lower cost is more important.  A few hundred for an inspection and/or a few days more for a proper design is practically negligible compared to the time and money they are going to spend on the home.

Posted by Loren Green, Phoenix Home Inspector & Designer (Greens Home Design L.L.C.) over 7 years ago

Jay,  We recently had a client where the husband was a General Contractor who "could fix anything". Unfortunately he worked out of town and never took the time to go through the home.  We had suggested a home inspection several times but were told "it wasn't necessary."  Husband never bothered to get involved in the purchase until the appraiser noted the roof trusses were damaged, after much back and forth, this was taken care of by the seller. 

Long story short, after closing the husband finally goes through the house and had weeks of work and quite a bit of money that had to be put into the house before their daughter and her new baby could even move in!

A good home inspection should be required on every sale.  The buyer needs to know what they are getting into. 

Bridget "Maryland Mortgage Mama" McGee

Posted by Bridget "Mortgage Mama" McGee, Maryland Mortgage Mama NMLS#196068 (Corridor Mortgage Group 410-960-2061) over 7 years ago

Unbelievable! Another prime example of why we are in such a mess.

Posted by Bob Zorechak - ABR, GRI, e-PRO, Sells Homes in Morris/Somerset/Hunterdon Cos., NJ (Keller Williams Realty Metropolitan) over 7 years ago

It's almost sad that the agent in question didn't think/feel it was necessary to get a proper inspection from an uninterested third party inspector. I moved into a new construction a while back and insisted on having an inspector do a one-year inspection BEFORE the builder did his. The inspector found plenty of things that the builder tried to dismiss and would have cost me loads of $ to fix later on.  Long story short, I LOVE HOME INSPECTORS!!!!!

Posted by Joe Colón, Jr. (Jenny L Colón, PC) over 7 years ago

I agree, it should be required. I insist all my buyers have one and thus far they all have taken my advice.Great blogs such as this help make the point to buyers. It is such a small expense for the value of the information.

Sellers should get home inspection prior to listing as well, repair the found issues and reinspect. This is common in the luxury home market to make the property more"settlement ready". When the buyer then has their inspector go through the property there is less to turn up, usually no nasty surprises for anyone. It is also a great thing to advertise in your listing, it shows the seller wants to put the best product forward. It takes some of the fear out of the transaction for both parties.

Posted by Karen Paris, REALTOR, ASP (Keller Williams Capital Properties Fairfax) over 7 years ago

Ruh Roh---I have a bad feeling about all this :)

Posted by Charles Buell, Seattle Home Inspector (Charles Buell Inspections Inc.) over 7 years ago

I guess the agent didn't realize the contractor doesn't work for her buyers. A few years ago it was common practice for new home buyers to not have inspections, we always suggested our new home buyers to have it, it was amazing some of the things that were not done or hooked up properly like a hot water heater. An inspection is well worth it's money and over the years have saved our buyers tons of time and money.

Posted by "Jayne" Focused on Finding the "Right" Home For You (Georgia Residential Realty, LLC) over 7 years ago

"I worked for [another state, another county] Code Compliance, so I'm as good as a home inspector."

I actually sat across from someone who said that to me. I couldn't help but burst out laughing. He got mad and left. I was OK with that.  :)

So many people's egos write checks they can't cash. You're right. That house will stir its own pot. And sludge stew will be on the menu that night!

Posted by Candice A. Donofrio, 928-201-4BHC (4242) call/text (Next Wave RE Investments LLC Bullhead City AZ Commercial RE Broker) over 7 years ago

Hi Jay~  It is our role as the Buyer's Agent to make sure that they totally understand the importance of a home inspection by an inspector the BUYER picks!

Posted by Vickie McCartney, Broker, Real Estate Agent Owensboro KY (Maverick Realty) over 7 years ago

Jay;  I always say "the school of hard knocks is a good teacher, but the tuition is prohibitive."

Posted by Kenneth Cole, NYS Licensed Real Estate Salesperson (Weichert Realtors Appleseed Group, 2043 Richmond Ave. S.I.N.Y. 10314. office phone 718-698-9797, Appleseedhomes.com -) over 7 years ago

I always recommend an inspection and I just had a house pass inspection with a lot of heating issues. Inspections need to be done and maybe more thorough in this case.

Posted by Joyce Herr, Lancaster County & Beyond (Prudential Lancaster Real Estate) over 7 years ago

I agree Dale.  And I would think most realtors agree with what you say!

Chuck - your wariness is warranted.  Looks can be deceiving!  I can tell you that for certain...

S&D - it might be a bit oxymoronic!  I'll try to do better next time!

Irene - I still feel badly for them.  They will figure it out.

Tom - I do a lot of FHA and VA and you are right, most agents have it figured out.

Posted by Jay Markanich, Home Inspector - servicing all Northern Virginia (Jay Markanich Real Estate Inspections, LLC) over 7 years ago

Chris - I don't either, only what the agent told me.  But sheesh!

A1 - if they are doing that it is a total conflict of interest.  My experienc here in Virginia is that licensing guarantees nothing.

Charita - apparently this agent thinks that what they got was a home inspection!  That may even be worse...

Harry - you are smart to get that in writing.  And hire the most experienced inspector you can find!

Advance - a lot of agents do that around here.  Not sure why this was done this way, except that the County was involved in all phases of the process.

Posted by Jay Markanich, Home Inspector - servicing all Northern Virginia (Jay Markanich Real Estate Inspections, LLC) over 7 years ago

Glenn - you pretty much hit that nail on the head!

John - as tempted as I am, I will not get involved with this one, any way at all!

Cindy - it is ashame things go that direction.  We are too lawsuit happy in this country.  People need to take responsibility.  For all I know, the buyers never heard that I was going to be a part of the process.

Sue - the pay for it boomerang always comes back at one time or another.  Taint no free!

Thanks Michelle.  In this case, for all I know the flipper "represents" the county and is absolved of responsibility.

Posted by Jay Markanich, Home Inspector - servicing all Northern Virginia (Jay Markanich Real Estate Inspections, LLC) over 7 years ago

Michael - that really is the bottom line.  For sure the flipper isn't going to bring to light the issues I have photos of!

Tamara - I don't!  I actually work for a flipper who brings me in once the contractor says he is finished.  Guess what!?  I find lots of stuff and have saved his butt more than once.

Dylan - you are right, it wasn't an inspection at all.  Those buyers were really not represented well.

Barbara - that is it for sure.  What they got was no inspection and a broken house, but really "beautiful!"

Robert - there is yet a mindset that has to change out there.  But I think most realtors understand our industry and appreciate it!

Posted by Jay Markanich, Home Inspector - servicing all Northern Virginia (Jay Markanich Real Estate Inspections, LLC) over 7 years ago

Darrin - I don't know enough to judge that one!  I have worked with this agent before.

Lisa - I think home inspections are very important not only for the information, but also the service.

Thank you Anthony.  You should share your experience in a post for everybody!

Alan - some things lead you to wonder, huh?  Have you uncrossed your eyes yet?

Robert - ignorance may be bliss for a while...

Posted by Jay Markanich, Home Inspector - servicing all Northern Virginia (Jay Markanich Real Estate Inspections, LLC) over 7 years ago

Marney - the buyers probably never heard that I was a part of the process, so I doubt I will hear about this house!  By the way, two of my children were born in Towson!

I agree David.  That is the crux of the sub prime problem, which, apparently, still exists!

Jeremy - I am sorry too, but unfortunately they were never my clients.

Joy - you are right, I have had clients say they were getting a VA inspection and so didn't need me.  I had to educate them!

Loren - I think sometimes people think they can do anything because they saw a TV show!  And that's quite a cover over an 18' span!

Posted by Jay Markanich, Home Inspector - servicing all Northern Virginia (Jay Markanich Real Estate Inspections, LLC) over 7 years ago

Bridget - the school of hard knocks is a cruel, but effective, teacher.  And pride is the universal sin!

Bob - that one certainly defines what is going on now!  Everything is done with other people's money, and in this case mine!

That's good to hear Joe!  We are not uninterested though, but independent and objective!

Karen - that pre-listing inspection is something that I have tried and tried to get going around here without success.

Charlie - yeah, but I'm not getting involved with this one!  Like you, I am totally baffled sometimes.

Posted by Jay Markanich, Home Inspector - servicing all Northern Virginia (Jay Markanich Real Estate Inspections, LLC) over 7 years ago

Jayne - I pretty much save people money every day!

Candice - that is a guy who has no idea what the home inspection industry is or requires of its participants!

Vickie - you and I know that, but this agent apparently does not!

Ken - I use the school of hard knocks analogy a lot, but I like your line about the tuition!

Joyce - the counties spend much less time and conduct a much less specific inspection than I do.

Posted by Jay Markanich, Home Inspector - servicing all Northern Virginia (Jay Markanich Real Estate Inspections, LLC) over 7 years ago

You get what you pay for, low cost house, free inspection. Their happy glow will be gone soon enough.

Posted by James Quarello, Connecticut Home Inspector (JRV Home Inspection Services, LLC) over 7 years ago

That is absolutely wrong!  That Realtor® was not looking out for the best interests of their clients.  What a shame.  It'll be on the market as a distressed short sale in a few  years.

Posted by Chris Ann Cleland, Associate Broker, Bristow, VA (Long and Foster REALTORS®, Gainesville, VA) over 7 years ago

Jim - I still feel badly for them, and don't even know them!  They certainly don't know what they don't know.  I'm going to re-gift some snow to you tonight.  Enjoy!

Chris Ann - or maybe a few months!  Who knows when the bad stuff will kick in and they can't get other people's money to fix it...

Posted by Jay Markanich, Home Inspector - servicing all Northern Virginia (Jay Markanich Real Estate Inspections, LLC) over 7 years ago

Now that conversation would have driven me crazy. It's one thing if the client had said it... but the real estate agent? Come on!

Posted by Reuben Saltzman, Delivering the Unbiased Truth. (Structure Tech Home Inspections) over 7 years ago

It was a little odd, to say the least Reubs.  I was disappointed and pretty upset for those buyers.

Posted by Jay Markanich, Home Inspector - servicing all Northern Virginia (Jay Markanich Real Estate Inspections, LLC) over 7 years ago

Wouldn't the ethics of the situation call for the Realtor(R) to face disciplinary action from the board of Realtors and/or charges of fraud fot all involved?

Posted by Brad Rachielles, REALTOR, CDPE, Upland, CA (CENTURY 21 Peak, Ca BRE# 01489453) over 7 years ago

I wouldn't know Brad.  For sure this realtor does not think anything wrong was done.  It could also be that the county said to the buyer that "their" inspector would handle the situation.  Of course they have no inspectors, but that is another issue!

Posted by Jay Markanich, Home Inspector - servicing all Northern Virginia (Jay Markanich Real Estate Inspections, LLC) over 7 years ago

Where were the county "inspectors" when he was covering up all the problems with "siding"?  I've seen too many agents not recommend a home inspector for new construction, but for a "flip", unbelievable! She should lose her license.  The tempation would be great to send her a link to blog one just to make her sweat, and to know better next time.

Posted by Linda Jandura, Realtor, North Carolina Buyer & Seller Specialist (Raleigh Cary Realty) over 7 years ago

Nothing is free. It might back fire later.

Posted by Lisa Chan, SRES,e-Pro, SFR (Sun Lakes Realty) over 7 years ago

Jay - I also get this from folks who want to know what their home is worth (what is the real market value) - but don't want to pay for an appraisal.  I suggest they get a CMA from a Realtor...but they would really like to know value from an appraiser's perspective.

Uhhh..that would be an APPRAISAL then, right?

Posted by Richard D. Ferris, Florida State Certified (FHA) Appraiser (AmcAppraisalsinc.com) over 7 years ago

I was tempted Linda, but afraid it might open a can of worms I don't want to climb into!  County inspectors did you ask?

Lisa - for sure.  I think the back fire is soon to come!

Richard - maybe they can get somebody else's money to pay for it?!

Posted by Jay Markanich, Home Inspector - servicing all Northern Virginia (Jay Markanich Real Estate Inspections, LLC) over 7 years ago

New home, resale, flip, whatever;  they all need a thorough inspection by an independent inspector as competent as you!

Posted by Steven Pahl, Real Estate Consultant Tampa, FL 813-319-6423 (Keller Williams Tampa Properties) over 7 years ago

My broker requires buyers to sign a waiver of inspections, stating they were advised to have a qualified inspector go through the home, and they chose to decline.  In my business, there have only been a couple buyers who have not used an inspector.

Posted by Patricia Paul, Broker, GRI (Patricia Paul Properties, Tucson, AZ) over 7 years ago

This is wrong on so many levels....I would love to see a follow up with the purchaser 2 years down the road....To see how the house is holding up...

 

Posted by Anthony Vosilla (Tony's Appraisal Services) over 7 years ago

Another case of a Realtor who simply does not know his/her job. My feeling as a past Realtor and now as a mortgage broker is that Realtors need to sit down and thoroughly explain the inspection process. When I get a contract for purchase and the buyer says they are not sure they will get an inspection, I always encourage them to do so. I tell them if nothing else they are going to be much more secure on what they are really getting and will learn basic information like water shut off locations, how old the mechanics are, etc. Valuable info!

Posted by Dora Griffin, NMLS 6380 (D A Griffin Financial.LLC) over 7 years ago

Wow! Beyond comprehension and just a tad bit of conflict of interest....scary!

Posted by Patty Brown, Broker, REALTOR®, ABR® (Coldwell Banker Valley Brokers) over 7 years ago

Jay,

This is a great post.  The responses are equally good.  It is hard to believe people actually think this way.  I hope the message gets out and buyers realize that an inspection is necessary for any home purchase.

I applaud all the Realtors that require their buyers to get inspections.  It may not always be the popular idea, but as stated before, a few hundred bucks for an inspection can save much more down the road.

Thanks for posting,

Dave

 

Posted by David Novalinski, Sr, Safety - Security - Peace of Mind (About Your Home Inspection, Inc.) over 7 years ago

That "free" inspection will likely turn out to be the most expensive "freebie" of their lives...

Sad to see this going on, sad to know a RE Agt/Bkr was a part of it.

Posted by Pete Buckley (Independent Broker/Realtor, North San Diego County CA.) over 7 years ago

Very interesting. Many people can manipulate many things. Not good for the purchaser.

Kate

Posted by Kate Reilly Lund (RE/MAX Diamond, Realtors) over 7 years ago

Very bad advice if a REALTOR is giving it, all i can say is re-eductaion

Posted by Scott Godzyk, One of Manchester NH's Leading Agents (Godzyk Real Estate Services) over 7 years ago

The flipper loves "the county", the buyer will write a book AFTER I am sure...

Posted by David Evans, HUD NLB Cumming GA (RE/MAX TOWN AND COUNTRY) over 7 years ago

Hi Jay,

Too many people feel that they don't need a professional.  Most of the houses that I inspect that have been flipped, leave much to be desired.  Usually the materials are not the best and the workmanship is not the best. 

People, please spend the money to hire a professional, Realtor and Inspector. 

Posted by Patrick McCaffery (Liberty Home Inspections Inc.) over 7 years ago

Very instructive post Jay.

And that brokerage certainly wasn't acting like their agent.

Let's hope the buyer had a buyer agency agreement with that brokerage and when this incompetence comes to light the buyer can get a large settlement.

Of course if they are a designated agency office they may be able to hide behind that to limit their liability. Unless they called themselves a buyer agent. A lot of REALTORs in our area are claiming to be buyer agents when they just provide desgnated agency. This is the type of situation where it will be part of the court case.

Shameful real estate work in any case.

 

 

 

Posted by Jon Boyd, Ann Arbor Real Estate Buyers Agent (Home Buyer's Agent of Ann Arbor) over 7 years ago

That Realtor should be taken out and throttled. How can they represent a buyer and not forcefully recommend a home inspection by a QUALIFIED Home inspector??? It boggles the mind... For the buyers sake, I hope that the place doesn't fall down around them too quickly.

Posted by Steve Facella (ReMax Prestige) over 7 years ago

I demand that my buyers do a home inspection on any home. What seems to be missed that a home inspector does that a parent or contractor does not... is a home inspector inspects EVERYTHING (thus the name ;)... from the plumbing, electrical and everything in between.. I do not see a contractor with a volt meter sticking it in every outlet? Home inspectors are WELL worth the few hundred bucks!

Posted by James Baxter Encinitas Realtor (Realty Place) over 7 years ago

One must remember conditions change after the "county inspector signs off" I had a agent tell me that circuit breaker double taps must be OK because the electrical permit was signed off by the inspector.

Posted by Brad Gotham (Granite Peak Inspection, Inc. ) over 7 years ago

Jay,

In Oregon, or at least in Klamath County where I am, our inspectors all have 4 page contracts that detail everything they CAN'T do, and in a nutshell I think the words "intrusive discovery" is the most important.  In other words, if all this was covered up by siding, they'd never have found it either, because they can't/won't dig in...  Other than the fact that you saw it while it was being "fixed," how would you have been able to uncover these deficits?

Thanks,

Victoria

Posted by Victoria CB Trees, Principal Broker (Crater Lake Realty, Inc.) over 7 years ago

Jay, unreal, I advice even on new homes to get a inspection.  One builder forgot to run a heating vent to a bedroom, lucky a inspection was done.  The county????

Posted by Will Hamm, "Where There's a Will, There's a Way!" (Hamm Homes) over 7 years ago

Reminds me of the TV episode of "Holmes..." I watched last night on HGTV.

Poor woman bought an old condo and she had it inspected by a home inspector! Even the casual observer should have known that it was a train wreck.

As usual Holmes saved the day, good thing because this single mother really deserve the help. She thought she did all the right things too.

Posted by Bob Pisa Downing-Frye Realty, Commitment, Service, Satisfaction... (Downing-Frye Realty, Inc. Naples, FL) over 7 years ago

Whoa, this makes me want to chew on paperclips!

A city or county inspection cannot possibly be as thorough as a true home inspection; those folks simply don't have the time, or get paid enough, to go through the home in the way my inspector does.

Since I am also in remodeling, I have walked through many interim and final inspections with city and county inspectors. Again, they usually hit the high points (mostly), but I am amazed at what they don't even take time to look at.

Posted by Barbara Charlton (inactive - license is on ice with State of MN) over 7 years ago

I for one would not work with that Realtor ever again. They are trouble waiting to happen and any inspector used would likely be drug into the fray. It's obvious that they don't have a clue about how valuable an inspection is and how valuable a good inspector can be in saving the client from huge financial burdens.

This kind of Realtor is the kind that will throw you under the bus the first chance they get.

See my blog article http://actvra.in/4x7

Posted by Dana Bostick (True Professionals, Inc.) over 7 years ago

Jay,

Great post and responses. This is such an unfortunate series of events and now someone will have to live with the decisions made (or not made). Whats a few hundred dollars well spent that will save thousands?

I feel for the family here.

Posted by Donald Hester, NCW Home Inspections, LLC (NCW Home Inspections, LLC) over 7 years ago

Hmmmmmm, county inspection?  Reminds me of a house I built back in the Chicago area - the county approved the footings and the foundation pour - AWESOME, the builder finally did some work.  Quick, get in the car, drive out to see the start of our new home.  Wait - the builder hadn't turned over a teaspoonful of dirt - there's no foundation.  But, it was "inspected" by the county.  Guess who was out of a job the next day!!!!

Posted by Juli Vosmik, Scottsdale/Cave Creek, AZ real estate 480-710-0739 (Dominion Fine Properties) over 7 years ago

Sounds like the county should recommend a independent home inspection (or a waiver) for liability reasons. I think that was discussed at the last county NSP meeting we had.

Posted by Ellen Dittman, #1 Stop for NE FLA-JAX/OP 904.535.1199 (TEXT OK) r (Watson Realty Corp.) over 7 years ago

Hi Jay, I have to admit I haven't read all 90+ messages above, so someone has probably already already suggested what I am going to suggest...  I suggest you call the County.  They need to know about this jackass.  Don't you think?  I did not miss the point of your story, it's just that this contractor is a public nuisance and there are surely other decent contractors who could use that business.   As for the inspection and the stupidity of that agent, well, shame on them.  I'm really sorry for the purchaser.

Posted by Virginia Gardner, Realtor, Charlottesville, Serving Central Virginia (Roy Wheeler Realty Co.) over 7 years ago

Hi Jay    

Wow unbelivable. Poor folks who bought. .........Brad

Posted by Brad Hornshaw, Realtor, Listing Agent, Buyers Agent, Investments (Brad Hornshaw Realtor Lynnwood, Bothell, Everett) over 7 years ago

Wonderful post to stress the importance of a home inspection!

Posted by Celeste "SALLY" Cheeseman, (RA) AHWD CRS ePRO OAHU HAWAII REAL ESTATE (Liberty Homes) over 7 years ago

Your main point may be correct.

Based on the evidence provided I see no reason to characterize the contractor, of whom their are many good ones, as a schmuck!  Calling names based on profession makes you and all the rest of us in the industry look less than professional.

I am not a contractor. I am a real estate broker.  There are good brokers and bad brokers, good lenders and bad lenders, good contractors and bad contractors and good home inspectors and bad home inspectors.

Posted by Jim Gilbert, The Gold Homes Team (Keller Williams Fairfax Gateway) over 7 years ago

While we're at it, there is no reason to suggest that all flippers are concerned only about profit at the expense of customer satisfaction. 

I work with a wonderful flipper who is always fixing things that the buyer hasn't asked to be fixed just to be nice.

Posted by Jim Gilbert, The Gold Homes Team (Keller Williams Fairfax Gateway) over 7 years ago

While we're at it, there is no reason to suggest that all flippers are concerned only about profit at the expense of customer satisfaction. 

I work with a wonderful flipper who is always fixing things that the buyer hasn't asked to be fixed just to be nice.

Posted by Jim Gilbert, The Gold Homes Team (Keller Williams Fairfax Gateway) over 7 years ago

Oh this is  a scary story!  You mean realtor you have worked with let his clients buy this house?!  Anyone with eyeballs can see this is all wrong.  

Posted by Coral Gundlach, Real Lives. Not Just Real Estate. (Compass) over 7 years ago

Just say it like it is= really! Loved the post, hated the situation.

Posted by Kathleen Lordbock, Keller Williams Realty Professionals (Keller Williams Realty Professionals) over 7 years ago

Excellent information Jay.  Thanks.

Posted by Kathy Strader, ASP (Memorial Staged Homes) over 7 years ago

It's a shame when a "flipper" gives all real estate investors a bad name.  I work with plenty of "house flippers".  Most are very conscientious.  Some are not.

I work with lots of attorneys, real estate brokers, conventional lenders, title companies, etc. Most are very conscientious.  Some are not.

I work with many home inspectors.  Most are very conscientious.  Some are not. 

It's a shame when some bad ones give the rest a bad name.  But it's not so great either to characterize all "flippers" as bad, when that clearly is not always the case.  Your two posts are very entertaining, and certainly make me cringe on behalf of all the conscientious real estate investors and house flippers out there.

Posted by Ann Bellamy (Hard money lending for investors in NH and MA) over 7 years ago

What a great post.  I have my clients watch just 1 episode of Homes on Homes and it usually solves the question itself.

Thanks again for the post.

Posted by Brenda Singeltary, Realtor (The Housing Connection) over 7 years ago

I have clients who wanted to skip an inspection on the 2nd house because a previous house was so bad that we stopped the inspection halfway through and my clients withdrew their offer.  Their thoughts were "what they didn't know wouldn't hurt them".  I had to quickly further educate them.

Posted by Anne Kohls, REALTOR, SE Michigan - 248-872-7944 (Keller Williams-The MORE Group) over 7 years ago

It's our job as agents to discover all material issues that we can, then to disclose those material issues, but most importantly, PROTECT our clients.  Especially 1st time buyers!  This really angers me as it appears that someone was chasing a commission.  I hate to say it but this is how it seems.  Just get the job done...  Bull...  Getting the job done sometimes means holding our clients hands and walking thm through the entire process AND being there for the inspections! 

I'd really like to read a rebuttle from the agent. 

It's the few that will ruin the reputation of the many!

Posted by Kevin Grimes, Assisting you with ALL of your real estate needs. (Neighborly Realty) over 7 years ago

I understand a buyer not knowing the difference between a county inspection and a private inspection, but I certainly don't want to work with an AGENT that doesn't know the difference!

Posted by Gayle Barton, Forsyth County Real Estate, Cumming GA Homes For Sale (404) 710-0204 (BERKSHIRE HATHAWAY Georgia Properties) over 7 years ago

 

Can this agent be turned in? How could he/she advise her client this way? Agents like the one mentioned give the rest of us a bad name. 

Posted by Jennifer Marks (On Maternity Leave) over 7 years ago

That is a scary story.  Sounds like that agent didn't want to take a chance of letting the buyers see all the problems for fear that they wouldn't buy.  That disregard for fiduciary duty will come back to bite everyone. 

It's just common just that you don't let the seller/contractor do the inspection for you.

Leanna

Posted by Leanna Scott (Leanna Scott Homes) over 7 years ago

Jay,

Thanks for the timely post. I'm amazed, in this day and age with all the foreclosures, shortsales and flips? What was the agent thinking? I'm so sorry for him and his clients, somebody's going to get sued and it's usually the one with the license.

 

 

Posted by David Cox, Broker/Owner*coxre.com*303.921.3908 (Cox Real Estate Group) over 7 years ago

Jay,

It's great to see the good agents and what they are posting on this blog!  As home inspectors, we all have been through hell at some point and see some extremely unethical behavior.  I just wish the good agents would turn in the bad agents to the state's real estate commission or to RESPA.  Some of the fines that are involved in instances like this would have a very deep impact on weeding out the bad.

As home inspectors, we have to keep fighting the fight and protecting our clients!

Keep of the good work!

Greg Wayman, ASHI Certified Inspector

Omaha, NE

www.omaha-home-inspection.com

Posted by Greg Wayman, ASHI Certified Inspector - 402-330-1701 (Foundation-2-Rooftop, Inc.) over 7 years ago

Golly, this is written so well, I've re-blogged both of the posts.

If only people would wake up.  Ain't going to happen in my lifetime.  As someone said above, "There's one born every minute."

Posted by Erby Crofutt, The Central Kentucky Home Inspector, Lexington KY (B4 U Close Home Inspections&Radon Testing (www.b4uclose.com)) over 7 years ago

Jay, you are soooooo right, they needed to have an inpsection. I feel bad for them working with someone that was not looking out for their best interests.

Posted by Robby Leviton, Knowles Team (Keller Williams Realty) over 7 years ago

Wow. Conflict of interest, at best. Fraud, at worst. It's frightening that this stuff still happens and that those who can least afford it are the victims.

Posted by Jan Stevens (Coldwell Banker Pittsburgh) over 7 years ago

DOES AN AGENT/BROKER'S LIABILITY EXTEND BEYOND SUCH TRANSACTIONS?

In my opinion, most certainly, it does.

I can assure you that even an average attorney will easily be able to get past the blanket, general denial of liability forms you have such a buyer sign.

So, you may succeed in hood-winking a buyer or two with such transactions but, eventually, it will catch up with you.

That would be another instance when I advise an agent: Get out your cell phone and make two calls -- first to your broker and then to your insurance carrier!

 

Posted by Thomas F. Kennedy, Esq. - Montgomery & Howard County Real Estate (Oz Realtors) over 7 years ago

Jay--Wow, I've seen some of the "flipper repairs and remodels" and while they may look clean and nice to the inexperienced eye, there are some real obvious signs that things weren't done up to par.  Having done a number of remodels myself and being perhaps "hyper-critical" (OK, anal--can I use that word here?)  when it comes to doing the job right, I wouldn't trust my new living experience to someone that had a vested interest!  I wish the buyers the best, but it sounds like they are going to need more help than that!

Posted by Tamara Perlman (Referral Network Inc.) over 7 years ago

I have inspected my share of flips over the years. The problem I encounter most of the time is lack of knowledge on the part of the contractor / flipper. Here in New York, with the exception of larger cities, there are no criteria to be met to enter the contracting business. This includes Electricians, Plumbers, Roofers, etc. Anyone with a pickup truck and a hammer can be a contractor. Couple this with HGTV telling us during the last decade that anyone with the above tools and a couple of cheap laborers can make a small fortune with a couple of months of work and you end up with the very real problem of sub-standard reconstruction.

I have inspected many excellent flips, usually by established contractors with a reputation to uphold, and some poor ones as well, usually by inexperienced or part time contractors, or contractors that realized during the construction that they had bitten off more than they could chew and started to cut corners. I have seen bowing walls from ceiling joists installed the wrong way, main basement support columns being supported by a steel office desk, extensive repairs performed due to damage from termites where the termite infestation was never treated, stairwells near collapse due to removed supports, and so much more.

In your case it appears that the contractor was intensionally performing sub-standard work to increase profit. I take exception to #106 who sees no reason to characterize the contractor as a schmuck. He is not a schmuck because of his profession. He a is a schmuck because anyone who buys this house will have very serious problems in the not-too-distant future due to his intentionally sub-standard repairs. 

Posted by David Huhtala (www.risnewyork.net) over 7 years ago

I sure hope that realtor had the buyer sign an inspection waiver ... the biggest red flag of them all. Perhaps YOU can do a FREE inspection to let them know what FREE cost them in the first place?

Posted by Cynthia Larsen, Independent Broker Serving Sonoma County, CA (Safe Haven Realty) over 7 years ago

Always get a home inspection by an independent and qualified home inspector.  The county inspected it - yeah right!

Posted by Dan Quinn, Dan Quinn (Berkshire Hathaway HomeServices PenFed Realty) over 7 years ago

When I first started inspecting home, a little over a decade ago, I drove about 60 miles to inspect a house and was met be the listing and purchasing agents, but not the client. They explained that she couldn't take time off from work. I gave the buyers agent our inspection contract (full ASHI inspection) to sign as the representative of the purchaser. She got together with the sellers agent to discus what I would be doing and THEY decided that the buyer didn't really need an inspection and offered to pay for my trip. I declined and drove 60 miles home. A POS house by the external appearance and a single mom the client. Some people can sleep with things that would keep me awake.

 

My son did an inspection yesterday for a young couple with two small children. Nice house in a rural setting surrounded by 2 feet of snow with little wrong. Their agent had told them they didn't really need an inspection since the house was in such good shape - it was build in 1920 and added on to at least twice and had plumbing to the master bath running through an exterior wall, in Minnesota! The Realtor was mostly correct. The house was well done and well maintained but those water supply lines to the master bath had just burst a week or so before the inspection and were included in the disclosures with the wrong reason given as to why. He had a discussion with them, in the context of adding a shower to the bath, and pointed out that this could happen again as there was no way from the inside to access the pipes and protect them. This was something the Realtor would not have know and there is really no reason she should but I think she should have known that there were a lot of things in the best appearing house that she might not be aware of that her client really needs to know.

Posted by Marshall Brown, BSEE, CHI (Mid America Inspection Services, LLC) over 7 years ago

Jay, Thank you for the informative post.  I enjoyed reading all the comments!

Posted by Denny and Denise Rockwell, Real Estate Professionals, Staging & Design (Berkshire Hathaway HomeServices California Properties) over 7 years ago

another case of penny wise and pound foolish....looks certainly can be DECEIVING! and not all that glitters is gold!

Posted by MaryBeth Mills Muldowney, Massachusetts Broker Owner (TradeWinds Realty Group LLC) over 7 years ago

I am a Mississippi Broker/Realtor, with a retired contractor license.  I ALWAYS advise clients to obtain an inspection on new construction too.   This is an unbelievable story, and yes, you are right, we are still in the subprime mess.

Posted by Nettie Carnett - Kennedy (Nettie Kennedy - Pastel Artist ) over 7 years ago

Steven - I would go with that completely.  We are objective and have nothing to gain from providing information.  We do, though, have a lot to lose.

Patricia - there are a lot of realtors and brokers around here who require the same!

Anthony - I am in that area a lot and could stop by some time from now.

D A - it might be that this realtor thought that given the circumstances this was the best thing to do for the client.  I don't know...

Patty - I think it's a big conflict of interest - I would never contract to do a repair and then "inspect" it for the buyer, but that is just me.

Posted by Jay Markanich, Home Inspector - servicing all Northern Virginia (Jay Markanich Real Estate Inspections, LLC) over 7 years ago

Dave - I have been doing inspections since long before they became popular.  For a while I was a contractor and an inspector.  But I never inspected the work I did for people!

Pete - there really is nothing free in life.  The costs come in many forms.

Kate - I don't think this is good for the purchaser.  Thanks for stopping by!

Scott - I think there was bad advice going all around this case.  And through it!

David - hadn't thought that, but I would love to read that book!

Posted by Jay Markanich, Home Inspector - servicing all Northern Virginia (Jay Markanich Real Estate Inspections, LLC) over 7 years ago

Jay,

I totally agree with you.  Some people feel that ignorance is bliss...however, IGNORANCE IS IGNORANCE in my book.  I know that it is hard for you to tell one of your REALTOR clients this, but I think he/she needed it.  I also feel sorry for those buyers.  They really got the shaft.  If I ever have any dealings in your area... I will be sure to call you!

Tina Beasley, Associate Broker, Envision Real Estate, LC

 

 

Posted by Tina Beasley, It's not about me...It's all about you! (Florida Homes Realty & Mortgage, LLC) over 7 years ago

The city and county inspections I have observed tended to be short and very superficial.

I feel for the new homeowners... no doubt the agent had them sign an inspection waiver.

Posted by Yolanda Hoversten, Broker - O Fallon, IL Real Estate (Berkshire Hathaway HomeServices Elite Properties) over 7 years ago

Patrick - why would they assume everyone to be "professional?"  Apparently because everyone in this transaction was referred by another?

Jon - these are people who apparently don't know what they don't know.  A problem has to develop before they start figuring out anything though.

Steve - it could be the realtor thought they DID get a professional "inspection."

James - we spend a lot of time honing our craft, and in continuing education to try to improve it.  I did over 40 hours of CE last year alone.

Brad - I hear that kind of thing a lot.  But just because it is "passed off on," does not mean that it was even looked at!

Posted by Jay Markanich, Home Inspector - servicing all Northern Virginia (Jay Markanich Real Estate Inspections, LLC) over 7 years ago

Jay,

It's really nice to see an Inspector who cares about the Client!  I'm sorry that the REALTOR didn't think it was necessary to get an unbiased inspection!

Posted by Kathy Opatka, Serving Ocean City, MD, & The Delaware Beaches (RE/MAX CROSSROADS) over 7 years ago

Victoria - that is absolutely correct!  It is very hard to see what a remodeler has done.  I have some tricks that I employ though, and we try our best!

Will - I do a lot of new construction inspections!  And I find many problems on every one!

Bob - I have seen those too.  Some of these people are left with a mess when all the "pros" are done.

Barbara - you are right.  They don't have time.  The problem in this case is that the county "inspector" was the contractor!

Dana - my eyes were sure opened up about this one.  I am still thinking about this case!  And good post back in 2009!

Posted by Jay Markanich, Home Inspector - servicing all Northern Virginia (Jay Markanich Real Estate Inspections, LLC) over 7 years ago

Donald - my sentiments exactly.  I am still feeling bad, by the way.

Juli - I too have heard that some things have been approved by hearsay and not when actually seen!

Ellen - I don't know all the circumstances here, or who referred whom.  But they shouldn't be accepting a contractor's walk through as an inspection!

Virginia - I have called the "county" many times, and I do inspections in 19 jurisdictions around here.  Nothing has come of any phone call...

Brad - I agree.  I have felt badly ever since that phone call.

Posted by Jay Markanich, Home Inspector - servicing all Northern Virginia (Jay Markanich Real Estate Inspections, LLC) over 7 years ago

Celeste - a home inspection, properly done, by an experienced inspector, is essential and worth its weight in gold.  And if the house turns out to be fine, so be it!  Peace of mind is worth a lot too!

Gold - there are good and bad everything!  And which main point "may" be correct?

As to the contractor, I spoke with him, looked him in the face, tried to catch his eye (he wouldn't look at my face), listened to his arrogance, saw his substandard work, heard him laugh at his cover ups, felt his arrogance and was absolutely disgusted at his behavior and lack of best-practice work.  Using the word schmuck says it in much fewer words.

But, this guy was a jewel -- http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Schmuck_%28surname%29

Gold - I don't know where I say that "all flippers are concerned only about profit at the expense of customer satisfaction."  I know I don't think that, and don't know where I even implied it.  I do inspections for a very conscientious flipper, who employs me because he knows I won't sugarcoat the work that was done.  He is always exhausted by my list after an inspection!

And fixing things to be nice is a great trait (I am a Scoutmaster, so I buy that), but fixing it properly is very, very important too.

Coral - it could be that during the work none of this was seen.  I happened to stop by one day when I was in the neighborhood, knowing that it was a flip in progress!  Boy, did I get an eye and earfull!

Posted by Jay Markanich, Home Inspector - servicing all Northern Virginia (Jay Markanich Real Estate Inspections, LLC) over 7 years ago

I am going to reblog your post with specific instructions that readers chase down your hyperlink to this house.

Posted by Debbie Durkee, ALC, CRS -- Land & Country Estates near Tulsa (Coldwell Banker Select, Realtors -- Tulsa, Oklahoma) over 7 years ago

Kathleen - I try, I really try.  Actually given the situation the post was very polite.

Kathy - you are welcome!  Stop by again!

Ann - I agree with everything you say, including about flippers.  I know a couple and they try to do good work!

Brenda - that is another guy who says it like it is!

Anne - education is a continual process.  Michelangelo said, at 89, "I am still learning."  He died at 93.  Read his resume?

Posted by Jay Markanich, Home Inspector - servicing all Northern Virginia (Jay Markanich Real Estate Inspections, LLC) over 7 years ago

Kevin - that is always the way.  I wonder if this agent did not think that this was the best thing for the client.

Gayle - and knowing me as this agent does, I am a bit shocked as well.

Jennifer - we don't know if this agent was not acting in a way thought best for the client!

Leanna - until I mentioned it over the phone, the agent did not know this house had any problems at all!

David - it will likely not get there.  But who knows, I at least will not get involved.

Posted by Jay Markanich, Home Inspector - servicing all Northern Virginia (Jay Markanich Real Estate Inspections, LLC) over 7 years ago

Oh those poor people!  That makes me REALLY mad!

Posted by Julie Babcock -Nook & Cranny Home Inspections (Nook & Cranny Home Inspections Tonawanda, NY) over 7 years ago

Hi Greg - glad to hear the middle country has good inspectors too!

Wow, thanks Erby!  Two reblogs!  I am impressed and blushing a bit...

Robby - if everyone thought they were looking out for the buyer's best interests, we are all screwed.

Jan - the buyers are adults too.  They are capable, or should be, of thinking for themselves.

Tom - you have to be right there!  Not at attorney, I would think that liability extends for as long as the problems do.  I was going to ask if you are of one of the two Kensington MD Kennedy families I grew up with, but I see you grew up in Bethesda!  I went to WJ.  You?

Posted by Jay Markanich, Home Inspector - servicing all Northern Virginia (Jay Markanich Real Estate Inspections, LLC) over 7 years ago

Jay, that agent is a disgrace.  It's one thing to adamantly tell your clients that this isn't a good idea and I suggest the better alternative and they do it without your blessing anyway (which I make them sign a waiver saying as much).  But to be okay with this situation is totally absurd.  You can only do so much and I have a feeling that agent will be getting some phone calls in the future.

Posted by Nicole Fleming (FC Tucker Emge) over 7 years ago

Tamara - they are very hard to inspect too because some things necessarily are hidden and we inspectors have to use tricks to discover stuff!

David - I agree with your TV analysis!  And all those who see a show and think they can do that thing on the show themselves!  And as to #106, look at my link!   ;>)

Cynthia - maybe that walk through qualifies as an inspection!  I don't know!

Dan - agreed!  And find the most experienced guy you can!

Marshall - no realtor has the information, or the right, to say that a client does not need a home inspection because the house "is in good shape."

 

Posted by Jay Markanich, Home Inspector - servicing all Northern Virginia (Jay Markanich Real Estate Inspections, LLC) over 7 years ago

Denny and Denise - glad you and and that you stopped by!  Stop by again!

Marybeth - as a home inspector, I can tell you with certainty that that is true!

Nettie - another huge wave of foreclosures is going to hit.  And sub prime is alive and well and at the crux of the problem!

Thanks Tina!  And I agree with you about ignorance!

Yolanda - this was even worse!  It was a walk through only, and by the contractor!

Posted by Jay Markanich, Home Inspector - servicing all Northern Virginia (Jay Markanich Real Estate Inspections, LLC) over 7 years ago

Kathy - that is the key isn't it?  Inspectors are unbiased!

Thanks Debbie.  You sure Mr. Jay won't scare them off?

Julie - I am still feeling badly for those folks.  But, it's spilt milk and I am not getting involved.

Nicole - I sincerely hope that all works out for the best in the end.  Those windows won't though!

Posted by Jay Markanich, Home Inspector - servicing all Northern Virginia (Jay Markanich Real Estate Inspections, LLC) over 7 years ago

I have had some buyers not inspect based on their own wisdom and against my advise.  The thing about a home inspector is the systematic approach.  A good contractor not trained as an inspector may very well miss things.

Posted by Gene Riemenschneider, Turning Houses into Homes (Home Point Real Estate) over 7 years ago

That house is a disaster waiting to happen. Unfortunately, I have sold houses renovated by "flippers" and the home inspector has found all kinds of shoddy work which has to be repaired by the buyers, since the seller is clueless.

Posted by Carolyn Roland-Historic Homes For Sale In Delaware and S. Chester County PA, Carolyn Roland, GRI, CRS (Patterson-Schwartz Real Estate) over 7 years ago

Gene - we inspectors go through a lot to become inspectors and annual continuing education.  This is not taken lightly by our associations!

Carolyn - sellers often are!  No fault there, it just is.  An inspection is essential.

Posted by Jay Markanich, Home Inspector - servicing all Northern Virginia (Jay Markanich Real Estate Inspections, LLC) over 7 years ago

I'm so glad that our office requires a disclosure to the buyer about inspections. Sure, it's in the contract.  But this gets very specific making them check which ones they will and will not perform, and the advisibility that they do it. I wouldn't want to be their agent, who clearly wasn't sending them that message.

Posted by Karen Crowson, Your Agent for Change (Coldwell Banker Residential Brokerage) over 7 years ago

Whether a home is new or not, a home inspection costs only a few hundred dollars and can save buyers tons of money and heartache down the road.

Posted by Risa Liebster, Toluca Lake Real Estate (Ramsey-Shilling Associates) over 7 years ago

Tom - you have to be right there! Not at attorney, I would think that liability extends for as long as the problems do. I was going to ask if you are of one of the two Kensington MD Kennedy families I grew up with, but I see you grew up in Bethesda! I went to WJ. You?

 

Hiya Jay,

I don't recognize ('course, at my age, it could be that I just don't remember now) your name.

Mine is a big family and you might have been in class with one of my brothers or sisters.

We grew up in the Parkwood area (Bethesda/Kensington) in the Holy Redeemer Parrish. All 4 of us boys went to Carroll HS and my 3 sisters went to Immaculata, Trinity and Stone Ridge. We would have gone to WJ, as did many of our friends!

Best regards...

 

Posted by Thomas F. Kennedy, Esq. - Montgomery & Howard County Real Estate (Oz Realtors) over 7 years ago

Karen - they do those here as well, but in this case maybe they thought this walk through was an "inspection."

Risa - I agree with that in every way!

Tom - I remember a Kennedy family on Parkwood Drive, or Roxbury or Amherst, over that way.  I lived on Crestwood Road, the other side of Saul.  I graduated from WJ in 1971, but maybe knew you guys at Cedarbrook Pool.  Or maybe softball up at Holy Redeemer.

Posted by Jay Markanich, Home Inspector - servicing all Northern Virginia (Jay Markanich Real Estate Inspections, LLC) over 7 years ago

Fantastic post Jay. You are absolutely correct: Those poor buyers received some really lousy advice. 

Posted by Richard Rosa, Exclusive Buyer Agent (Buyers Brokers Only, LLC) over 7 years ago

Richard - I was very dismayed, to say the least.  I hope it all comes out okay, but fear for the worst.

Posted by Jay Markanich, Home Inspector - servicing all Northern Virginia (Jay Markanich Real Estate Inspections, LLC) over 7 years ago

and then there is the minor topic of WHY IS THE COUNTY IN BUSINESS????? It is government, for Christ's Sake, they have no business being in business. Government in business is by definition socialism. That is not their job, they are obviously bad at it (not their money they are spending). The very first thing I would complain about is that they do this in the first place. They are taking away business from entrepreneurs, actually from the very same people who pay the taxes to employ them.

Write to your local paper! Make this public! Cry out!!!

Posted by Annette Sievert, Corvallis, Oregon (CB Valley Broker) over 7 years ago

I think this is an ongoing program Annette.  All of the local counties do it.  While I agree that it is not the business of gubment, and it is socialism, and that it is detrimental, a note to a paper would be dismissed as a local conservative lunatic!

Posted by Jay Markanich, Home Inspector - servicing all Northern Virginia (Jay Markanich Real Estate Inspections, LLC) over 7 years ago

I sold a flip that was beautifully done and staged.  It was perfect for my first-time buyer.  All the work supposedly had been inspected by the village building inspector. 

However, the home inspector my buyer used found a small pond in the crawlspace and some other items.  The flipper told us it was fixed & the inspector came back to tell us it was not fixed correctly and there was still standing water.  This happened several times (even after closing as money was held in escrow).  

My poor buyer had a little fight on her hands to get the work finished, but she at least had money held out to have Mr. Flipper either fix the problems or she'd get the money to have it done.  It worked out and the great inspector came out a few times at no extra charge (it helped that he lived nearby and he felt sorry for my buyer).  This buyer sure knows the necessity of a home inspection!

Posted by Judy Orr, SW & Near West Chicago suburbs (HomeSmart Realty Group) over 7 years ago

Judy - I've been there and done that before!  Sometimes it is like pulling teeth to get something done right.

Posted by Jay Markanich, Home Inspector - servicing all Northern Virginia (Jay Markanich Real Estate Inspections, LLC) over 7 years ago

Amazing that you had to write this at all! We even recommend inspections on custom new homes! Thanks for the post.

Posted by Chris and Berna Sloan, Tooele UT (Group 1 Real Estate) over 7 years ago

Jay: Luckily, the Inspectors in City and County in which I live do not do home inspections.  They only inspection completed work to be sure the work meets code requirements.  I insist that my buyers have a home inspections and if they do not agree to an inspection, they must sign an inspection waiver.  It is so risky not to have an inspection.

Posted by Evelyn Kennedy, Alameda, Real Estate, Alameda, CA (Alain Pinel Realtors) over 7 years ago

My comment will be number # 166 and I'm so encouraged after reading 165 posts  ahead of me that their are a lot of great agents out there in the US that:

 #1 know their business

#2 care about their clients

#3 want to throttle the agent who "helped" these poor souls.

Jay, thank youl

Posted by Lynn M. Bower, PA, ABR, GRI, RSPS, AHWD, PMN, CNE (John R Wood Realtors) over 7 years ago

After reading this post and the previous post on this topic all I can say is "wow".  Perhaps this would be a good time to do a "pro bono" home inspection?  Now that would be real job satisfaction!

Posted by Tony and Suzanne Marriott, Associate Brokers, Serving Scottsdale, Phoenix and Maricopa County AZ (BVO Luxury Group @ Keller Williams Arizona Realty) over 7 years ago

Jay,

The buyers perceiving that they are getting a great deal along with financial assistance may be, I think, blinded by the "benevolence" of others. It's really too bad! I hope that all of the people receiving a benefit from this flipper get their just rewards for their deception.  It really is a shame that unknowing buyers can be subject to such criminals without a conscience.

Posted by Eugene Adan, Carlsbad Real Estate (Adan Properties, Carlsbad, CA (760) 720-9710) over 7 years ago

Buyers, buyers...always, always get your own inspections.

Posted by Dawn Crawley, Find Pinehurst Homes (Dawn Crawley Realty) over 7 years ago

Jay, I'm mortified so can only imagine how you must feel!

Posted by DeeDee Riley, Realtor - El Dorado Hills & the Surrounding Areas (Lyon Real Estate - El Dorado Hills CA) over 7 years ago

Chris - custom homes are the ones I have the fewest problems with!

Evelyn - they don't here either!  That was the contractor, acting, apparently on behalf of the county.  It could be I don't understand the entirety of the situation.

I agree Lynn!  There are some real great people on this site.

Tony and Suzanne - except for the can of worms that would be opened up!  I'm supposed to be unbiased and objective!  In this case I would be far from that...

Posted by Jay Markanich, Home Inspector - servicing all Northern Virginia (Jay Markanich Real Estate Inspections, LLC) over 7 years ago

Eugene - this guy was a piece of work.  But I hope it all works out for these buyers.

Dawn - clearly they don't know what they don't know.

DeeDee - it is easy to be on this case.  I agree!

Posted by Jay Markanich, Home Inspector - servicing all Northern Virginia (Jay Markanich Real Estate Inspections, LLC) over 7 years ago

Jay - That's unbelievable!     We don't as realtors always get inspectors who are as thorough and knowledgeable as you, but

we should still always get the inspections.  I only have one fellow down here in this area that I trust to do a super job.  Regretfully, h'e also #1 with a LOT of agents!

Posted by Dagny Eason, Fairfield County CT, CDPE Homes For Sale and Condo (Dagny's Real Estate) over 7 years ago

Dagny - thank you for your kind words.  You are right about the inspections and the thorough inspectors often are the most popular!  Some agents hate them though - they "blow" deals...

Posted by Jay Markanich, Home Inspector - servicing all Northern Virginia (Jay Markanich Real Estate Inspections, LLC) over 7 years ago

Such a shame. I served on the board of directors for the Greeley (Colorado) Urban Renewal Authority. We made every effort to hire reputable contractors and make sure that the low income families we worked with got all the education and support we could provide. It is unfortunate that there are still contractors out to make a quick buck at the expense of those who can't afford it.

Posted by Lisa DeFrancesco, Real Estate Straight (United Real Estate Richmond) over 7 years ago

Jay,

I once lost an inspection. The guy booked and then said he had bad news for me: A  guy he worked with, who was an energy auditor, was going to do the full inspection for the cost of a six pack.

Posted by Steven L. Smith, Bellingham WA Home Inspector (King of the House Home Inspection, Inc.) over 7 years ago

Oh boy... I remember that post. I feel sorry for those poor buyers, and their agent needs 40 lashes.

I don't know about your county, but back when our county still had building permits that required inspections prior to occupancy permits, the inspectors were the dregs of the building industry. Most were failed contractors who were willing to work for a rate just over minimum wage.

As for expertise - they had none.

Posted by Marte Cliff, your real estate writer (Marte Cliff Copywriting) over 7 years ago

Jay - this is so sad for the buyers. They will remember how everyone involved in their first purchase gave them the worst advice and basically ripped them off. I have met many first time buyers who needed assistance to buy their home but they always get a home inspection. As I explain, this is the largest purchase you will ever make and a few hundred dollars spent on a home inspection is a good investment. The knowledge you gain about the home whether good or bad is well worth the cost.

Posted by Kathie Burby, REALTOR, SFR, Tuolumne County Real Estate Guide (Coldwell Banker Mother Lode Real Estate) over 7 years ago

Lisa - I think this guy also made a buck at the expense of the taxpayer!  There's plenty of gubment waste to go around!

Steve - seems fair to me.  Did the County brew the brew?

Marte - I don't know what they work for around here, but this contractor was no county inspector!

Kathie - as I say, the school of hard knocks can be a cruel, but effective, teacher.

Posted by Jay Markanich, Home Inspector - servicing all Northern Virginia (Jay Markanich Real Estate Inspections, LLC) over 7 years ago

Thank you to all those who reblogged this post!  Sometimes these things get all over the country!  This post certainly did!

Posted by Jay Markanich, Home Inspector - servicing all Northern Virginia (Jay Markanich Real Estate Inspections, LLC) over 7 years ago

You know... I wouldn't do an inspection on a home I was buying for myself even... I like it already otherwise I wouldn't go further and I would want an unbiased look at it. Like I always say you look at the finishes I will let you know what is under all that pretty stuff.

 

 

Posted by Derek Dobyns (Perfection Home Inspection) over 7 years ago

I'm with you, I can understand how this hurts. It's a big buyer blunder & I'm sure the agent that went along with it was happy you weren't around to 'stir up the pot'. There is a flipper around here that is just as bad, when I see the agent relisting 'another property' from these guys it makes me cringe. All kinds of 'white washed' problems.

Posted by Lyn Sims, Schaumburg IL Real Estate (RE/MAX Suburban) over 7 years ago

My clients ALWAYS!!! get a home inspection from an inspector that is paid for by them and working in their best interest. Anything else is just asking for trouble.

Posted by Dennis & Terri Neal, Your Home Sold in 45 Days or We Se (RE/MAX, Big Bear) over 7 years ago

Just a thought here, but what is the point of having a contractor who did the work do an "inspection" of his own work. What is he going to say? Hey look what a crappy job I did on this or that. No way! This is a flagrant conflict of interest in my opinion. Wow, this gives a new meaning to buyer beware!

Posted by Steven Graham, Coach, ePs, Director of Training (epropertysites) over 7 years ago

Derek - I have often thought that when I buy my next house I am going to hire a home inspector.  I might tag along, but I think four eyes are better than two!

Lyn - there are certainly some predators out there.  Hopefully there are some really conscientious ones.  I do inspections for one around here who employs me before he puts the house up.  Fortunately for him, I come up with an exhausting list!

D&T - I think an objective look is always best practice.  This walk through was far from that I fear.

Steven - the term "conflict of interest" could not be better defined!  I'm sure he beamed with pride...

Posted by Jay Markanich, Home Inspector - servicing all Northern Virginia (Jay Markanich Real Estate Inspections, LLC) over 7 years ago

Just makes me sick! The rotting wood and covered up stucco are dangerous. There's probably covered up mold in the house, as well. These poor unsuspecting homeowners could be in for lots of expense and possible health issues down the road. And the electrical wiring! EEK! What in the world is wrong with agents that don't protect and advise their buyers? Grrrr!

Thanks for sharing, but now I'm just sad.

Posted by Jamie King, Sandusky, OH (Hoty Enterprises, Inc.) over 7 years ago

Again, Richard, the clients didn't know what they didn't know.  And new construction inspections usually leave me thinking what you do.  I have almost as many problems on them as with remodels and flips!

Jamie - sorry you're sad!  But you are right, covering up things does not make them better.

Posted by Jay Markanich, Home Inspector - servicing all Northern Virginia (Jay Markanich Real Estate Inspections, LLC) over 7 years ago

Jay -- great post! Remember the old saying...you get whay you pay for!

On another note Jay,  let me say Thank You, to a blog you posted at the beginning of the year, which I as a Newwby found so helpful, namely, the possibility of opening, besides the main blogs, other groups of blogs!

Posted by Peter Michelbach (David Grace R/E) over 7 years ago

Thanks Peter for both comments!  I don't know what I did, but I am NO computer guy and for someone to thank me for some computer wonder I accomplished is new for me!

Posted by Jay Markanich, Home Inspector - servicing all Northern Virginia (Jay Markanich Real Estate Inspections, LLC) over 7 years ago

If a Buyer is foolish enough to proceed without a home inspection, then we make them sign off that they did not take our advice to get an inspection.

Sadly there are poor Inspectors too, but we are pleased with the Teams we use now.  Took a few mistakes to weed out the bad ones.

In their defense an inspection is only good for the day it is done.  Appliances that BREAK after the client moves in, or a leaking roof, should be able to have been noted that soon you may have a problem.  Joy

Posted by Joy Carter & Jeff Booker Brother and Sister Team, Trust Your Family's Move To Our Expertise! (Keller Williams Parkland/Coral Springs Realty-GreatFloridaHomes Team) over 7 years ago

J&J - I think the buyers have no idea what a home inspection is and were told that this contractor's walk through was just that!  Yes the inspection is good for that day only, but I knew some things about this house that nobody knew that I knew!

Posted by Jay Markanich, Home Inspector - servicing all Northern Virginia (Jay Markanich Real Estate Inspections, LLC) over 7 years ago

Jay,

No but the guy who did it was an energy consultant for a low income housing agency funded by public monies.

Posted by Steven L. Smith, Bellingham WA Home Inspector (King of the House Home Inspection, Inc.) over 7 years ago

Steve - maybe he turned it in as another inspection and got paid for it, with public money...

Posted by Jay Markanich, Home Inspector - servicing all Northern Virginia (Jay Markanich Real Estate Inspections, LLC) over 7 years ago

I'm curious to know what the disclsoures to the buyer stated...

Posted by Kerry Jenkins (Prime Properties) over 7 years ago

Amy - in Virginia there is no disclosure required.  In this case I am sure the buyers knew the house was remodeled from its previous condition, but beyond that they obviously thought they were getting a professionally-done, "new" house!

Posted by Jay Markanich, Home Inspector - servicing all Northern Virginia (Jay Markanich Real Estate Inspections, LLC) over 7 years ago

Looks like 100% agreement on this post.  The liability to the agents would be large.  A carefully worded release of liability stating this agent highly recommends an inspection from a licensed inspector would be the only answer.  Even on new home sales.

I hope this helps!

Tony Barker, Broker, Trainer, Mentor

Premiere Home Realty Inc, Cypress Texas and surrounding Houston METRO area in Texas.

premiere-homes.com

832-867-0835  / tony@ptexas.com

 

Posted by Tony Barker (Premiere Home Realty - Tony Barker 832-867-0835) over 7 years ago

Thanks Tony.  I think that since "the county" did the work, via a contractor, that "the county" inspection, via the same contractor satisfied all the parties.  I guess the agent thought this sufficed!

Posted by Jay Markanich, Home Inspector - servicing all Northern Virginia (Jay Markanich Real Estate Inspections, LLC) over 7 years ago

Jay, I can feel your frustration.  I educate my clients about the value of a home inspector paid by them, working for them to inspect a home that will probably represent a significant portion of their net worth.  I have a list of a number of reputable home inspectors and I value their contribution greatly.  I am going to re-blog this to drive home your message to my audience.

Posted by Chris Smith, South Simcoe, Caledon, King, Orangeville Real Esta (Re/Max Chay Realty Inc., Brokerage) over 7 years ago
Again, you have to wonder what some people are even thinking! Purchasing and NOT having your OWN home inspector?????
Posted by Barbara-Jo Roberts Berberi, MA, PSA, TRC - Greater Clearwater Florida Residential Real Estate Professional, Palm Harbor, Dunedin, Clearwater, Safety Harbor (Charles Rutenberg Realty) over 7 years ago

Chris - for some reason your responses to my blogs did not come through until today!  And thanks for stopping by so many!  And again, thanks for the reblog.

Barbara-Jo - it baffled me.  I am a little afraid to bring this up with that realtor as I don't want to open a can of worms!

Posted by Jay Markanich, Home Inspector - servicing all Northern Virginia (Jay Markanich Real Estate Inspections, LLC) over 7 years ago

What are these people thinking... ??? So htey have the guy who rehabbed the property do the inspection because it was "free"? We shall see how free it was once they move in and find all the crap that the builder did not remember to mention...


We ALWAYS use qualified inspectors, even on new construction, for the well being of our clients... there is simply no excuse not to do so...

Posted by Paul Silver, Rhode Island full service real estate firm over 7 years ago

Paul - you have that exactly right!  I worry for them and the things that will crop up over time.  But it's way out of my hands!

Posted by Jay Markanich, Home Inspector - servicing all Northern Virginia (Jay Markanich Real Estate Inspections, LLC) over 7 years ago

Had someone call me last week to see if I would just inspect the roof/attic. She said the full inspection wasn't needed because the city already inspected it. I've heard that several times and always take the opportunity to explain the difference. Sometime my point is well taken and other times, as was this time, it's brushed away and the buyer moves forward without a complete inspection.

Posted by Vince Santos, Southeast Michigan Home Inspector (StepByStep Home Services LC) over 7 years ago

Hey Vince!  I worry about these "partial" inspections because I always notice something else and if I mention it I wonder if I'm not opening myself up to a later claim, "Your SOP's say you are supposed to do this and that!  And while I hired you to look at the roof you should have mentioned the other stuff!"

It's always someone else's fault!

Posted by Jay Markanich, Home Inspector - servicing all Northern Virginia (Jay Markanich Real Estate Inspections, LLC) over 7 years ago

Great post - agree with others' comments about poor buyers & stupid agent!!  I ALWAYS highly recommend a home inspection!

Posted by Evelyn Black (Comey & Shepherd, Cincinnati, OH) over 7 years ago

Good for you Evelyn.  I feel badly for these people, but it isn't my issue now!

Posted by Jay Markanich, Home Inspector - servicing all Northern Virginia (Jay Markanich Real Estate Inspections, LLC) over 7 years ago

It's amazing how everyone is an expert when it comes to giving out information about a profession in which we have to have continued training.  Clients don't realize that the inspection is to protect their interests, not be just another expense that could be cut to save a few dollars.  Have a great week Jay.

Eldon

Posted by Eldon Hendrix (Hendrix and sons Home Inspections) over 7 years ago

Thanks for stopping by again Eldon!  You are right.  I don't think the public knows just how much time and money we spend annually to stay current and informed.

Posted by Jay Markanich, Home Inspector - servicing all Northern Virginia (Jay Markanich Real Estate Inspections, LLC) over 7 years ago

Hi Jay,

I have a question that comes out of ignorance. It is clear that safety was significantly compromised in the way the property was fixed up. What I was wondering was if you hadn't seen the work in progress how much this would you have been able to determine in an inspection. That is how much could you have identified after the flipper has hidden everything with siding.

Posted by Maya Swamy, Ph.D. Long Beach, CA - fundsavailable.com (Funds Available) over 7 years ago

Jay, I read your initial post and then when I saw this one I was so interested to see that you were able to tear this house to shreds and save a buyer from inheriting a headache.  When I saw that you were unable to inspect the home and the buyers had already settled, my heart sank for these new homeowners. 

But you certainly said it best when you said this " if you ever, ever, ever feel like a home does not need a home inspection, ESPECIALLY if it was remodeled by a Flipper or "the County," call me so I can gently, quietly and politely PILE DRIVE SOME SENSE INTO YOUR HEAD!"  I've heard some home inspectors referred to as "deal killers".  Give me a home inspector like that any day so my client can be as well informed as possible!  Better for them to know now than to be blindsided later on!

Posted by Kieno Simeon Your South Riding Real Estate Consultant (Keller Williams Realty) over 7 years ago

I like that phrase" pile drive some sense in your head". Some buyers really need it. Some are thinking they will SAVE the money but in the end it'll cost them 10 times as much.

Posted by Robert L. Brown, Grand Rapids Real Estate Bellabay Realty, West Mic (www.mrbrownsellsgr.com) over 7 years ago

Maya - because I have tools, such as a thermal imaging camera, which can detect spots in walls that are not insulated or sealed properly and I had lots of photographs!  I also have some tricks up my sleeve to check electrical and plumbing.  In this case I would have known what to look for.

Kieno - my heart also sank when the realtor said they didn't "need" a home inspection!  I don't think I have ever killed a deal.  Many houses have though!

Robert - that certainly would have been true in this case.  I don't know when it will all hit the fan for those people, but it will one day!

Posted by Jay Markanich, Home Inspector - servicing all Northern Virginia (Jay Markanich Real Estate Inspections, LLC) over 7 years ago

Years ago I bought a Historic home where the owners "had done a lot of work" on it...

The Home Inspector found several issues with the home.... and after still buying it because it was a unique historic property in a highly desirable neighborhood that I was going to gut anyways...  I found even more...

Luckily I had the tolerance and money to correct the shoddy work (and I was expecting it anyways) but obviously these people will have NO money to fix those hidden defects.

Ya know... I hate to say it .... but because this agent told them that the County doing the Inspection equates to a clean bill of health...

I would have to send the happy new owners an offer to do a complimentary home inspection.

If they take you up on it, it might rain on their parade but I think in the long run they would be very happy to know that they just bought a Money Pit.

Something can still be done about it... probably not a couple of years down the road. The defects you describe are not going to be showing up anytime soon.

And if they have children... and I was in your shoes knowing what you know about the house... I don't know if I would be able to sleep at night.

Just my thoughts...

 

 

 

Posted by Paul Francis, Las Vegas Real Estate Agent - Summerlin Homes (Francis Group Real Estate) over 7 years ago

Unfortunately, Paul, all the counties around here are "remodeling" houses and selling them to people all the time.  I had another where all the plumbing done in the house was backwards.  That one is still in the process of getting "fixed," because nobody wants to take responsibility and the "plumber" is no longer in business.

The follow-ups on that one house has taken hours of my time.  I was the inspector there and feel to help.  I had nothing to do with the house in this blog and don't feel it my purview to get involved.  But I can sleep at night!

Posted by Jay Markanich, Home Inspector - servicing all Northern Virginia (Jay Markanich Real Estate Inspections, LLC) over 7 years ago

Jay, I'm with you 100%.  We have the same issue a lot here in regards to septic inspections.  The county requires that they inspect it, for a fee of $150, but they don't even open the tank.  They just go out and prod around a few spots, and only point out very OBVIOUS problems.  I tell my clients all the time that they need to insist that the seller pump it out and have the interior inspected by a licensed septic contractor.  Never rely on a local government agency to do ANYTHING right! 

Posted by Matt Robinson, www.professionalinvestorsguild.com (Professional Investors Guild) about 7 years ago

Matt - the counties do the same septic "inspection" here too.  They walk around and if there are no puddles or odors, they pronouce it all fit!

Posted by Jay Markanich, Home Inspector - servicing all Northern Virginia (Jay Markanich Real Estate Inspections, LLC) about 7 years ago

Excellent post Jay!  Last week, I had the pleasure of inspecting a house that was remodeled by the City.  The Contractor in charge of the work is a licensed HVAC Contractor.  This home was supposed to be turn-key ready and already inspected by the City.

 

The 6 month old A/C didn't work.  I found a ton of electrical problems that were basic to find.  Here's the worst part: The 6 month old furnace was pumping 29 ppm of carbon monoxide into the home after only running for 5-6 minutes.  The readings kept going up, so I turned it off and had to air the house out.  The Buyer had a 5 year old son.  Had they moved in and turned the furnace on for the first time, they very well may have died.

It's crazy out there!!!  Always get a real home inspection!  If you can't afford an inspection, then you shouldn't be buying a house.

Posted by Greg Wayman, ASHI Certified Inspector - 402-330-1701 (Foundation-2-Rooftop, Inc.) about 2 years ago

You found and oldie but a goodie, Greg!  The longer I do this (in my 36th year now) the more I realize how crucial inspections are on every structure, new and old.

Posted by Jay Markanich, Home Inspector - servicing all Northern Virginia (Jay Markanich Real Estate Inspections, LLC) about 2 years ago

This blog does not allow anonymous comments